About Us

The University of Cochin instituted the Department of Electronics in the year 1975. The Department was envisaged as a postgraduate Department with Master’s Degree and Doctoral programmes in frontier fields of Electronics. Realising the growing needs of trained man-power in various fields of Electronics, the University decided to start teaching programmes in the Department which was formally approved by the University Grants Commission and All India Council for Technical Education. in due course. Initially, an M.Tech. course was started with a student strength of 6, which was subsequently raised to 25 with 5 seats reserved for students sponsored by industries and R&D institutions.

In 1983, the All India Council for Technical Education (AICTE) and the University Grants Commission (UGC) extended financial support to the M.Tech. course. The Doctorate Programmes of the Department are mainly in the fields of Underwater Acoustics, Ocean Electronics, Microwave Propagation & Antennas, Microprocessor Applications and image processing . External agencies like DST,DRDO,CSIR , ISRO and the State Government are supporting this Department through various Research projects and Research Fellowships.

In 1988, the University Grants Commission sanctioned “COSIST” assistance to the Department for development of postgraduate education and research in the areas of Microprocessor Applications and Microwave Antennas. In 1993, the Department was selected by UGC for the Departmental Research Support (DRS) in the field of Ocean Electronics. In 2005, DST selected this Department for financial assistance under FIST Programme for a period of 5 years.

The Ministry of Human Resources Development has given assistance for establishing an advanced VLSI Laboratory and Signal Processing Laboratory in this Department. In the year 2007-08, the University Grants Commission provided assistance for creating infrastructural facilities in this Department. The UGC has also sanctioned substantial funding to the Department for implementing the DSA Programmes level II and level III.

The University Grants Commission is also supporting the research activities by awarding research fellowships, viz., Research Fellowship in Science for Meritorious Students (RFSMS) which is later renamed as UGC BSR Fellowship. About 20 students have received research fellowship under this scheme since 2007.

The Department has established collaborative research in national and international level with institutions like Delft University Netherlands, Polarizone, Malaysia, University of Surrey UK, University of Kent UK, University of Paris France, etc.. The faculty members and research scholars regularly attend international conferences to present their research findings. Apart from this, different funding agencies are supporting the Department with sponsored projects in different research topics.